The Commission on Ministry

The Commission on Ministry (COM) advises and assists the Bishop in the discernment and ordination process for the diocese. They are charged with providing for the development and affirmation of ministry of all baptized persons.


The gifts he gave were that some would be apostles, some prophets, some evangelists, some pastors and teachers, to equip the saints for the work of ministry, for building up the Body of Christ. Ephesians 4:11-12

The COM is made up of up to ten people, half lay and half ordained.

The mission of the COM is to assist all individuals, alongside the Office of the Bishop, in fulfilling their call to ministry.

To fulfill that mission, we will:

  1. Provide resources to assist all God’s people as they discern their gifts for ministry.
  2. Support the ministry of all God’s people.
  3. Oversee the discernment of those seeking ordination.
  4. Support the bishop in articulating the ministry of Christ.

Members of the Commission on Ministry pose for a group photo at the 2019 Diocesan Convention.

Current Members

The Rev. Sue Colavincenzo, Chair
St. Dunstan’s, Davison

Doris Sutton
St. John’s, Otter Lake

Ellen McVey
St. John’s, Midland

Emily Klein
Christ Church, Owosso

Joyce Thewalt
St. Christopher’s, Grand Blanc

The Rev. Anna Leigh Kubbe
Holy Family, Blue Water

The Rev. Jerry Lasley
St. Christopher’s. Grand Blanc

The Rev. Nancy Mayhew
St. Alban’s, Bay City

The Rev. Pamela Lenartowicz
St. Andrew’s, Gaylord

The Rev. Thomas Manney
St. Paul’s, Bad Axe

Contact Person

Sue Colavincenzo